eBox Administrator - Managing Team Folders

This tutorial will show an eBox Administrator how to manage Team Shared Folders.
 

  • Team Shared Folders are only accessible by internal eBox users.
  • Only eBox Administrators can setup team shared folders.
  • Team shared folders use the eBox Administrator's available storage space.
  • Team Shared Folders (team folders) are the recommended means of collaboration and sharing folders between your eBox users. 

 

Topics covered:

 

 


Create a Team Shared Folder
In this example, we are going to create a team shared folder named Company Files.

 

 

Step 1: Login to the eBox Web Interface. Click on the Management Console icon.

 

 

 

 

 

Step 2: Under Team Folders (Shared Work Space), click CREATE TEAM FOLDER.

 

 

 

 

Step 3: Or from the File Browser, right-click into the white space and select Create team folder.

 

 

 

 

 

Step 4Click the arrow to expand Existing Tenant Storage.

Select Default Tenant Storage.

 

 

 

 

 

Step 5: Enter a name for your team shared folder.

Click CREATE.

 

 

 

 

Step 6: Click Add Collaborator.

 

 

 

 

 

Step 7: Click Existing User/Group.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Step 8: Select the users you want to give access to the team shared folder.

Click DONE.

 

 

 

 

 

Step 9: (Optional) You can assign limited administrative control of a team folder by assigning any collaborator user as an "Owner"
 

First, click the edit icon on that user:

 

 

Then, check the box to make this user an Owner of this folder:


 

 

 

Lastly, click the Save button:


 

 

Bob will now be able to add/remove users as collaborators of this folder, set permissions, and more - just like you.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Step 10: Click the menu icon to show the left panel

Click the dashboard icon.

 

 

 

 

 

Step 11: You will now see your newly created team shared folder on your management console dashboard.

 

 

Important Note: Your team folder icon on the management console dashboard dashboard should look like the icon below, though with your own folder name:


 

And in the Team Folders area of your Management Console, it should look like the icon circled in red below:


If your team folder icons do not match the ones in this tutorial, please delete and recreate the folder.
You must follow the instructions we provide to create fully functional, syncing team folders.

 


Delete a Team Shared Folder
In this example, we will delete a team shared folder named Company Files.

 

Step 1: Click on the Management Console icon

 

 

 

 

Step 2: Under Team Folders (Shared Work Space)

Select the team shared folder you want to delete.

 

 

 

 

 

Step 3: Click the Delete icon.

 

 

 

 

 

Step 4: At this prompt, click YES.

 

 

 

 

 

Step 5: Or from the File Browser, right-click the team shared folder.

Select Edit, then select Delete.

 

 

 

 

 

Step 6: At this prompt, click YES.

At this prompt, click YES.

 


Set Permissions for Users/Collaborators
Permissions include: List, Read, Write, Delete, and Share.
In this example, we will remove Delete permissions for Jane Doe.

 

Step 1: Click on the Management Console icon.

 

 

 

 

 

Step 2: Under Team Folders (Shared Work Space),

Select the team shared folder you want to set permissions for.

 

 

 

 

 

Step 3: Click Folder Permissions.

Click the tool icon.

 

 

 

 

 

Step 4: Click the Add User icon.

 

 

 

 

 

Step 5: Select Existing User/Group.

 

 

 

 

 

Step 6: Select the user you want to set permissions for, then click DONE.


 

 

 

 

Step 7: Here we will remove Delete permissions so we will uncheck the box for it, then click APPLY.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Step 8: You will now see the Delete permission unchecked.

Click the tool icon if you need to edit permissions again.


You will now see the Delete permission unchecked.
Click the tool icon if you need to edit permissions again.