Disable/Enable an Email Account

This tutorial will show you how to Disable and (re)Enable an email account.


Disabling an email account does not delete it.

Instead, this will disable access to the address so that it may not be logged into from Webmail or used from third party locations. Accounts installed into mail clients and mobile devices will not be able to send or see newly received mail while disabled.  Disabled accounts cannot be logged into at all but they will still receive incoming emails.

 

When to disable an account:

Most administrators have no need to use the disable function. If you need to prevent the account from being accessed temporarily, but do not want to change the user's password, then disabling is potentially useful. However, we encourage you to either change the account's password to prevent access or to simply delete the account instead. Disabling an account is less convenient and rarely, if ever necessary.

You cannot see whether or not an account is disabled from the control panel. There is no enabled/disabled status marker.
If you are not sure whether or not an address has been disabled, follow the steps for re-enabling the address to rule it out. 

 

Topics covered:




Account administrators can disable an address from the control panel



Step 1: View your email addresses by clicking the Accounts envelope icon

 

 



 

Step 2Check the box to the left of the address you want to disable.

 


 


 

Step 3: Click the Actions button and select Disable from the drop-down menu.

 

 


 

Step 4: Click the Apply button to perform the action. 

 

 

 

Step 5: When the action is complete, you will see this message in green.
The address has been disabled.
There is no status indicator as to which addresses are disabled or enabled.

 


 


Account administrators can (re)enable an address from the control panel.



Step 1: View your email addresses by clicking the Accounts envelope icon

 

 

 



Step 2Check the box to the left of the address you want to enable.

 

 




Step 3: Click the Actions button and select Disable from the drop-down menu and select Enable.

 

 

 


Step 4:  Click the Apply button to perform the action.

 

 



Step 5: When the action is complete, you will see this message in green.
The address has been enabled.
There is no status indicator as to which addresses are disabled or enabled.

 

 

Need to know if an address has been disabled without attempting to re-enable it?
Email our support team from an authorized contact email address and ask us.